New SLC Council leadership chosen for 2018

Jan. 2, 2018
Contact: Dan Weist or Molly Farmer, Council Communication

SALT LAKE CITY – City Council Members have elected a new leadership team for 2018.

At the Council’s January 2 meeting, the seven-member group chose Erin Mendenhall, who represents District 5, as the new Chair. Chris Wharton, who represents District 3, was chosen as the Vice Chair. He was elected to the Council in 2017.

“It’s a great honor to serve Salt Lake City as Chair of the City Council,” said Mendenhall, who was first elected to the Council in 2013. “I’m humbled to work with my colleagues as we move on the issues that will make us an even greater City.”

The new leadership team will serve a standard, one-year term beginning immediately.

SLC Council leadership chosen 2018

Erin Mendenhall, Chris Wharton. Credit: Busath Photography

Also at Tuesday’s meeting, the Council held its first discussion about inclusionary zoning ordinances, which are a type of local land use ordinance that requires or encourages developers to include affordable units in new residential developments. Salt Lake City does not currently have any inclusionary zoning. The Administration presented programs in other cities that have been successful and those that have been unsuccessful. The Council will continue to discuss the concept with the Administration in the coming months.

The Council also discussed Budget Amendment No. 3 for Fiscal Year 2017-18, which includes $300,000 to pay for the lighting system replacement at the City-owned Smith’s Ballpark.


Print version